Yorkton Chamber of Commerce Blog Items

Paid Interpersonal Violence Leave – Employers Need to KnowDid You Know?

On May 13, 2019 paid job leave for survivors of interpersonal and sexual violence was introduced and passed in the Saskatchewan Legislature.

Employees will be able to take five paid days and five unpaid days under Bill No. 172, The Saskatchewan Employment (Paid Interpersonal Violence and Sexual Violence Leave) Amendment Act, 2019.  Previously, employees could take a 10-day, unpaid leave.

To be eligible, an employee, employee’s child or a person for whom an employee is a caregiver must be the victim of interpersonal or sexual violence and the employee requires time off work to:

  • Seek medical attention;
  • Obtain services from a victims’ services organization;
  • Obtain psychological or other professional services;
  • Relocate, either temporarily or permanently; or
  • Seek legal or law enforcement assistance and attend court appearances.

Employees must have worked for an employer for a minimum of 13 weeks and may be required to provide evidence of the services being received if asked to qualify for the leave.

Employers are required to keep personal information confidential.

The Saskatchewan Employment (Paid Interpersonal Violence and Sexual Violence Leave) Amendment Act, 2019 came into effect May 15.


For more information, contact the Ministry of Labour Relations & Workplace Safety 306-787-5353.



Vote Prosperity

While business is doing its part to make Canada more prosperous for more people, the federal government has a critical role to play.  That is why the commitments each of the federal parties make during this fall’s federal election campaign will be critical.

No organization understands this reality better than the Canadian Chamber of Commerce.  It’s the voice of more that 450 chambers of commerce and boards of trade, representing more than 200,000 businesses of all sizes, in all sectors of the economy and from every region of the country.  Vote Prosperity reflects the priorities and concerns of job creators in communities across Canada.  Developed in partnership with Canada’s provincial and territorial chambers of commerce, Vote Prosperity lays our seven priorities, along with a series of specific measures, to attract investment to Canada and help businesses create jobs, grow and strengthen our communities.

The Canadian Chamber of Commerce is calling on all the federal parties to support Canada’s job creators by including these priorities in their election platforms.  Together, a brighter, more innovative future can be built for Canadians.

The 7 priorities include:

  1. A Regulatory System that Works for Everyone, including Business
  2. A Tax System that is Fair, Efficient and Modern
  3. Access to New Ma5rkets Around the World and the Elimination of Trade Barriers at Home
  4. Resources to Help Small and Medium Canadian Companies Grow and Succeed at Home and Abroad
  5. Innovation and Infrastructure to Make Canada the Most Connected Country in the World
  6. A Workforce with the Skills, Education and Training to Prosper
  7. A Healthier Pharmacare System for Healthier Canadians

To learn more about Vote Prosperity, visit VoteProsperityCA.ca

The All Candidates’ Forum for the Yorkton – Melville constituency, hosted by the Yorkton Chamber, will be held at the Gallagher Centre October 9.



Mission: Zero

At the May Board meeting, the Directors passed a motion for the Yorkton Chamber to become a signatory to the Sask Health & Safety Leadership Charter – an initiative of Safe Saskatchewan.  Executive Director Juanita Polegi attended the Charter signing event in Saskatoon to sign on behalf of the Chamber.  The Chamber is now one of over 700 signatories to the Charter.  The signatories have a single shared belief: that the only acceptable number of injuries in Saskatchewan is ZERO. Mission Zero: Zero Injuries; Zero Fatalities; Zero Suffering.  To learn more about the Charter and the Principles the signatories agree to abide by, visit https://safesask.com



Login | Photo Submission | Contact

Copyright © 2012. All Rights Reserved.